Office of Research and Development

Profile of the Deputy Director (Research)

Dr. (Mrs.) Modupe Janet AYENI

Deputy Director (Research)

Dr. (Mrs.) Modupe Janet AYENI is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology, Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti. She is a Plant Scientist with special interest in Plant Eco-Physiology and Plant Resources Management. She obtained her Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Ado Ekiti, now Ekiti State University in 1992. She holds a Master of Technology degree in Forestry from The Federal University of Technology Akure, Nigeria (2001) and Ph.D. degree (Plant Resources Management) in 2013 from Ekiti State University. She assumed duty in the Department of Plant Science and Biotechnology as an Assistant Lecturer on the 1st of February 2008. She rose through the ranks from Assistant Lecturer (2008) to Senior Lecturer (2016).

She has published many articles both in local and international reputable journals. She is a member of the following Academic and Professional bodies: Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSD), Botanical Society of Nigeria (BOSON), Botanical Society of America (BSA) and a fellow of the African Scientific Institute (ASI). (ASI).She was appointed the Acting Deputy Director, Office of Research and Development, EKSU on the 1st of August, 2020.

Her administrative and managerial experiences include:


Departmental Level Coordinator: (100 – 400 Level) 

2008 to 2017 


Departmental Examination Officer

2011 to 2014


Staff Adviser, Plant Science Students Association                               

2010 to 2018 


Secretary, Electoral Committee, OWSD EKSU Chapter                       



Member, Faculty of Science Examination Misconduct Committee      

2014 to 2015


Departmental Undergraduate and Postgraduate Seminar Coordinator  



Secretary, Departmental Accreditation Committee                                 

2017 to 2018


Postgraduate Coordinator                                                                        

2017 to 2018


Member, Faculty of Science Research Committee                                 

2017 to 2018


Ag. Head of Department, Plant Science and Biotechnology          

August 2018 to 2020


Member of the University Senate                                                   

August2018 to 2020


Member, University Library Committee                                              

2019 to l 2021


Ag. Deputy Director, Office of Research and Development           

August 2020 till date